SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

The Time After the Time After - Monday, Apr. 27, 2020
My Person - Friday, Apr. 24, 2020
Very Much - Tuesday, Apr. 21, 2020
Work From Home - Monday, Apr. 20, 2020
In Bed - Friday, Apr. 17, 2020


Tuesday, Apr. 14, 2020 @ 10:33 am
Hamilton



I am pulling on my shoes to leave, to walk home to start my workday. He is heading towards the shower with a towel tucked tightly around his waist. His chest bare and his hair scruffed upwards and sideways.

“What should I listen to today,” he says to himself, scrolling through his favourite songs.

A song starts abruptly from the portable speaker that perches on the tiny swath of counter that edges the sink.

I am zipping up my coat, leaning over to kiss him goodbye.

His expression changes to an energetic smile and he begins to sing with animated expression, his eyes flashing.

I am not throwing away my shot
I am not throwing away my shot
Hey yo, I'm just like my country
I'm young, scrappy and hungry
And I'm not throwing away my shot

It’s like he’s shifted into a different person. The best version of himself. Confident, funny, talented. The skin of his chest gleaming a burnished gold. His eyes a bright glacier blue.

I record this moment in my mind.

You. You constantly surprise me.

You. You are mine.


Roots | Shoots