SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Courage - Wednesday, May. 06, 2020
The Ring - Tuesday, May. 05, 2020
I Like You - Thursday, Apr. 30, 2020
Dirty Dancing - Tuesday, Apr. 28, 2020
The Time After the Time After - Monday, Apr. 27, 2020


Friday, Apr. 24, 2020 @ 9:03 am
My Person



We paddle out into the harbour and talk about our days. Paddling out into the face of a steady breeze, and my body strengthens in response. A bald eagle cries out from the top of the tallest cedar tree. A seal surfaces beside me, and the whoosh of its breath startles me. Huge black eyes gaze up at me, and it raises its snout into the wind to assess who I am.

We work together in the kitchen making cannelloni. He makes the sauce, and I make the filling, and together we assemble the pasta into a casserole dish.

While our supper bakes in the oven, we dance together in the living room. A glitch in the playlist, and we slow down and dance and sing along dramatically to Taylor Swift’s Lover.

Can I go where you go?
Can we always be this close forever and ever?
And ah, take me out, and take me home
You're my, my, my, my lover

After dinner, I fall asleep tangled up with him on the couch.

He wakes me a while later, “It’s time for bed, my dear.”

We’ve been in lockdown together for 41 days, and it’s still wonderful.

I found my desert island person.


Roots | Shoots