SWORDFERN
Rooted, I used to think.

Profile - Archive- RSS
Notes - Email - Diaryland

Reassurance - Wednesday, May. 03, 2023
Mistake - Monday, May. 01, 2023
Listening to Owls with Shawn - Monday, Apr. 24, 2023
Transitioned - Friday, Apr. 14, 2023
Spring - Friday, Mar. 24, 2023


Tuesday, Mar. 14, 2023 @ 1:41 pm
Winter Snorkeling



I swim out in the cold ocean, layers of neoprene cover nearly all of my body. I am a sleek, black seal. Black head, black body, black hands, black feet.

I wade into the water and push off the sandy bottom, feeling the cold water slip in and envelop my body. I kick my flippered feet, surveying the ocean bottom through the glass layers of my snorkel mask. The water in the bay is clear in the winter. Clear and cold.

I see a crab. Dungeness, the size of a dinner plate.

I dive down and swiftly grab it with my gloved hand. I surface with the creature, pull off my mask and inspect its alien form. I turn it over. The crab is male. It moves its claws in a threatening way, and I gently release it back into the ocean and watch it land on the ocean floor.

I swim away, on the hunt for whatever else will appear before me.


Roots | Shoots